Apple Strudel Muffins

This month, Colombia is celebrating el Día de Amor y Amistad – their version of Valentine’s Day.  My sweet boyfriend sent me beautiful roses, and I decided to bake my apple muffins that he adores in his honor – just to make sure that the recipe works, so when he arrives in 2 weeks, he will have his favorite apple muffins waiting here for him.

I hope you enjoy them as much as he does!

My beautiful roses!

My beautiful roses!

  Apple Strudel Muffins

Ingredients:

Muffins:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

1 1/2 cups chopped apples

 

Topping:

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 tablespoon butter

1/4 cup oatmeal

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C, and 400 degrees F for high elevation). Grease a 12-cup muffin pan, or muffin cups.

In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a large bowl, beat together butter, sugar and eggs until smooth. Mix in vanilla. Stir in apples, and gradually blend in the flour mixture. Spoon the mixture into the prepared muffin pan.

In a small bowl, mix brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, and oatmeal. Cut in butter until mixture is like coarse crumbs. Sprinkle over tops of mixture in muffin pan.

Bake 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Allow to sit 5 minutes before removing muffins from pan. Cool on a wire rack.

Makes 12 muffins.

Chopping up fresh Colombian apples!

Chopping up fresh Colombian apples!

Mixing the chopped apple into the wet ingredients

Mixing the chopped apple into the wet ingredients

IMG_0390

Baking in Bogotá

Ready for the oven! Since the cheapest metal muffin tins I could find here cost around $30 USD, and I didn't even think they would

Ready for the oven!
Since the cheapest metal muffin tins I could find here cost around $30 USD, and I didn’t even think they would fit in my mini-oven, I ended up getting these silicone muffin cups. I had never tried baking in silicone before – but I LOVE it! They are easier to fill, easier to remove muffins from, and easier to clean. I highly recommend them!

Delicious!

Delicious!

One thought on “Apple Strudel Muffins

  1. Pingback: Ahuyama (Pumpkin) Bread | Cooking in Colombia

Leave a Reply

